If it doesn’t fit… check again

You know how identical twins often have at least one tiny difference in their appearances, so that people (or, let’s be honest, really only their mother) can tell them apart? Well, clothes are the same way.

The most recent lesson in my ParsonsxTeenVogue Fashion Industry Essentials program taught me about how human error in production can lead to differences between supposedly identical garments. I tested this tid-bit of INCREDIBLY IMPORTANT information at my local Target and found nothing but support.

While I tried on multiple pieces, such as a black faux-velvet skirt and a thin pumpkin-spice-colored sweater, I focused my outing on a patterned purple raincoat that was all but covered in drawstrings, snaps, and zippers. I liked the coat because, though it was lightweight, it looked like it was durable in a trendy way, which is important here in the good ol’ sunshine state. We get hit with rain hard, but it never gets cold, so outerwear that shields from water without adding thick layers is a must for any native.

After determining which size I was—medium, I tried on all five raincoats that came in that size. I was shocked that they each fit a little differently. Three of them had looser sleeves than the others and two of them were more flared at the waste. This amazed me because, had I tried on one of the bigger ones first, I would have thought that the medium size altogether was not for me and moved down to the small, which may or may not have fit depending on the variations in the one I picked to try.

This was groundbreaking to me because I often struggle with finding clothes that fit. I workout a lot and, as a result, I typically find clothes that either fit my waste or my hips, but not both. When this happens, aside from getting nail-bitingly annoyed, I sort of deem the store, brand, or style of clothing that didn’t work as not meant for me and then simply avoid it. As you can imagine, I seem to have less and less wardrobe options every day, but now I know that there may just be something wrong with that specific piece, not the entire style of clothing or sizing system used by the company.

Now, if something is just barely too tight on me, I can simply try a second one in that same size to determine if it was just a production mistake or if it really doesn’t work for me.

So get ready, guys! You’re shopping trips are about to start taking a lot longer, but your wardrobes are about to become a lot bigger. You’re welcome.

 

 

Leave a Reply

